Enjoy the UK's ‘Hidden Treasures’ up close and personal

Hidden Treasures

At Peterborough Museum

19-27 August

Archived Event

FREE, just drop-in

Now extended until Sunday 15 September!

Enjoy a rare opportunity to see one of Peterborough Museum’s ‘hidden treasures’ up close!

From 19-15 September, Peterborough Museum will be shining a spotlight on a single Hidden Treasure, by exhibiting an original watercolour landscape painting by J.M.W. Turner. Renowned as one of the great masters of British landscape painting, the view of Peterborough Cathedral from the North was painted c.1795 when he was a young artist.

One of two watercolours Turner painted of Peterborough around this time, it is one of the Museum’s most evocative pieces. For conservation reasons, the painting cannot be displayed regularly, or for any length of time, so this is a unique opportunity to discover its amazing story!

FREE, except on special event days when Museum admission charges apply.

This painting will be exhibited as part of The Independent campaign ‘Hidden Treasures’. Run by museum charity the Collections Trust, with media partner The Independent, Hidden Treasures offers Independent readers priority booking for these behind-the-scenes tours of leading heritage institutions – and the ability to secure their place before the general public.

Medieval logboats, elephants skulls and rare chinese ceramics are just some of the artefacts that will be accessible to the public during Hidden Treasures. Cabinets of curiosities previously unseen, secret storerooms usually closed to the public, and expert guides ready to give you a great personal tour are all part of this unique national event.

For more information visit www.hiddentreasures.org.uk, where you will see a full list of participating venues with full booking and access information.

Hidden Treasures Performances

Mon 19 Aug 10:00am FREE For Sale
Tue 20 Aug 10:00am FREE For Sale
Wed 21 Aug 10:00am FREE For Sale
Thu 22 Aug 10:00am FREE For Sale
Fri 23 Aug 10:00am FREE For Sale
Sat 24 Aug 10:00am FREE For Sale
Sun 25 Aug 10:00am FREE For Sale
Mon 26 Aug 10:00am FREE For Sale
Tue 27 Aug 10:00am FREE For Sale
Wed 28 Aug 10:00am FREE For Sale
Thu 29 Aug 10:00am FREE For Sale
Fri 30 Aug 10:00am FREE For Sale
Sat 31 Aug 10:00am FREE For Sale
Sun 1 Sep 10:00am FREE For Sale
Mon 2 Sep 10:00am FREE For Sale
Tue 3 Sep 10:00am FREE For Sale
Wed 4 Sep 10:00am FREE For Sale
Thu 5 Sep 10:00am FREE For Sale
Fri 6 Sep 10:00am FREE For Sale
Sat 7 Sep 10:00am FREE For Sale
Sun 8 Sep 10:00am FREE For Sale
Mon 9 Sep 10:00am FREE For Sale
Tue 10 Sep 10:00am FREE For Sale
Wed 11 Sep 10:00am FREE For Sale
Thu 12 Sep 10:00am FREE For Sale
Fri 13 Sep 10:00am FREE For Sale
Sat 14 Sep 10:00am FREE For Sale
Sun 15 Sep 10:00am FREE For Sale

Peterborough Museum

  • Priestgate, Peterborough, PE1 1LF
More Info